Tomatoes and garlic and olives, oh my!

When I was coming up with snack options for our NYE pajama party, I started by looking in the cabinets to see what was already there. I had two cans of black olives (not sure why, they were probably on sale) and decided to try my hand at olive tapenade. I remembered the yummy tapas dish on Gordon Biersch‘s menu and settled on tapenade, tomato bruschetta, and roasted garlic cloves.

Gordon Biersch tapas

Tapenade recipe:

  • 1 cup black olives (or 1/2 black + 1/2 green)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp capers
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper (or to taste)
  • Blend everything together in a food processor until the mixture is only slightly chunky.

Tomato bruschetta recipe: (it called for plum tomatoes but I used what I had)

  • 2 pints cherry tomatoes, diced with seeds removed
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp basil (I used oregano and a pinch of cilantro)
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Stir it all together and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Roasted garlic:

  • Pre-heat oven to 400

  • Cut top of garlic head
  • Coat with extra virgin olive oil
  • Wrap in foil and back for 35 minutes or until soft
  • Squeeze cloves out once it cools!

I served these alongside some toasted bread and crackers. It was such an easy dish to make and I’d do it again in a heartbeat, or maybe this weekend for the Redskins playoff game!

5 responses to “Tomatoes and garlic and olives, oh my!

  1. Wow, this sounds awesome. Is the roasted garlic supposed to go on top of the bruschetta or tapenade?

  2. Pingback: Olive & Linseed Rolls | James's Recipes·

Leave a Reply

