Recipe: Stuffed peppers

It’s been a while since I shared a recipe but I made these delicious stuffed peppers last night and decided it was time to spread the yum. This recipe comes from Skinny Taste and I only altered two elements.

photo 1(2)

You need:

  • 1 lb. lean ground turkey
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp cilantro or parsley
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • salt
  • 2 or 3 bell peppers
  • 1 cup fat free chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups rice, cooked
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Saute garlic, onion, parsley/cilantro in oil for two minutes.
  3. Add ground turkey and season with salt, garlic powder, cumin. Cook until browned.
  4. Add tomato sauce and 1/2 cup chicken broth and simmer for five minutes.
  5. Combine rice and meat.
  6. Halve bell peppers and remove seeds, place in baking dish.
  7. Spoon meat/rice mixture into peppers and fill as much as you can.
  8. Pour remaining 1/2 cup chicken broth in baking dish.
  9. Cover with foil, cook for 35 minutes.
  10. Top with cheese and enjoy!

As for what I did differently? Well, I didn’t have any chicken stock. Adding that on my “always have in the cabinet” list. Turns out you can use 1 tbsp soy sauce plus water to equal one cup in lieu of chicken stock. I also didn’t have tomato sauce but I did have pasta sauce. Same thing, right?

I added a few dashes of hot sauce to the peppers after they came out of the oven. It might be because I bought 99% fat free turkey but it needed a little something.

stuffed peppersJust a warning…you will have a lot of leftover rice and meat. This isn’t a problem, it’s just more yum.

One thought on “Recipe: Stuffed peppers

  1. This looks delicious! I love that you always find substitutes for items in recipes that would make me upset not having in my cabinet. So resourceful. :)

Leave a Reply

