The Importance of Girlfriends

Up until a few weeks ago, I shared a house with three guys. Now one has moved out and in comes the sister of one of the boys. It’s an interesting situation, as two sets of siblings now share a roof. Only now that there’s another girl living here do I realize how much I really missed having someone to share “girl stuff” with.

I started thinking about the importance of girlfriends last night after my new roommate and I watched a girly movie together and after I talked to my best friend on the phone. She is one of my sorority sisters (my big sis, in fact), and we remain the best of friends. I have only one other friend like that and luckily we’re all having a reunion in 16 days.

It’s not that I don’t have a lot of great girlfriends nearby. We have a hard time getting together sometimes because of our schedules so I spend my time with my roommates. Finally having another girl in the house has given me a renewed sense of appreciation. I went through a similar situation a few years ago. In high school, I had male and female friends but was always closer to guys. That carried into college until I realized that I needed girlfriends and joined a sorority.

When I moved into my current house, I didn’t have a problem being the only girl because, honestly, at that point I needed a break from living with 14 other girls! After almost a year has past since I entered the “man-zone” and while they are fun to hang out with, they don’t really like talking about shopping, chick flicks or that time of the month.

No one understands a woman as well as another woman does. My best friends (the “till the end through thick and thin” ones) are two of the most important people in my life. No matter the length of time between phone calls or visits, we are always there for each other. It’s something that people take advantage of but when you take a moment to think about what your life would be like without them you will realize that it would suck.

So thank goodness for girlfriends because as wonderful as men are (ok, not all men), nothing beats kicking up your feet with a glass of wine to watch Confessions of a Shopaholic and gush over the leading actor.

One response to “The Importance of Girlfriends

Leave a Reply

