Howl at the Moon!

I read that tonight’s full moon will be the biggest and brightest of the year. I don’t know enough of the science to support that on my own but Yahoo! News does a good job of explaining it.

Besides the fact that a full moon is pretty, I bring this up because it gives me an excuse to talk about my two favorite werewolves. I don’t necessarily believe the folklore surrounding werewolves however, I do appreciate them for entertainment purposes. I realize that this post is going to expose my inner geek!

1. Daniel “Oz” Osbourne from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I admit, this was and remains one of my favorite shows. Perhaps I like Oz because of my major crush on one Seth Green (swoon!) but I also like the character because he was cool. Please note that this picture is sitting on my desk. Yes, I have his autograph.

These are lines from one of my favorite episodes: Season 3, The Zeppo, in which Xander (played by Nicholas Brendan-also swoon) tries to be cool.

Xander: What is it? How do you get it? Who doesn’t have it, and who decides who doesn’t have it? What is the essence of ‘cool’?

Oz: Not Sure.

Xander: I mean, you yourself, Oz, are considered more or less ‘cool’. Why is that?

Oz: Am I?

Xander: Is it about the talking? You know, the way you tend tend to express yourself in short, non-committal phrases?

Oz: Could be.

2. Remus “Moony” Lupin from the Harry Potter series, played by David Thewlis in the films. Lupin first appeared in Book 3, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, as the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher-a doomed position at Hogwarts! I like Lupin because, although he is a werewolf and could rip your face off, he was one of Harry’s dad’s best friends and therefore serves as another father-figure to our dear Chosen One.

Ok, that’s enough of my nerdom for one day! And if you do encounter a werewolf tonight and you don’t see his picture above, make sure to use silver bullets. The regular ones just won’t cut it.

3 responses to “Howl at the Moon!

  1. Your blog keeps getting better and better! Your older articles are not as good as newer ones you have a lot more creativity and originality now. Keep it up! And according to this article, I totally agree with your opinion, but only this time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

