What Will I Do Now?

After several weeks of nightly viewing, I finally finished the entire series of Six Feet Under. I shouldn’t say “finally,” though. As glad as I am to have watched all five seasons, I now have nothing to look forward to when I get home from work.

I could dive into the plot, characters, or philosophical themes but instead (so as not to ruin the show for those of you who have yet to see it) I’ll share two things that resonate with me.

Lauren Ambrose played angst-ridden Claire Fisher. Her character is not one that I would choose to model myself after (I don’t do drugs or date crazies) but there are a few characteristics of Claire that I admire. Lately, I have been obsessed with red hair. A few weeks ago I left the salon with a beautiful red ‘do. I was considering going blonde(r) for in the Spring but now I want to stick with Claire Fisher red!

Photography, and art in general, had a prominent role in the show. Claire was an artist/photographer and Billy Chenowith, besides being a total nut job, showcased his artistic side throughout the seasons. One of my wish list items this year is a dSLR. I love my point-and-shoot but sometimes the pictures don’t turn out as well as I would like them to. Maybe I just need to adjust the settings but I think an entry-level dSLR could be a winner.

Leave a Reply

