Wedding: Vibrantly Retro

The name says it all: Vibrantly Retro. I have my heart set on a few wedding ideas but it’s good to step outside of those and open your mind to something else.

This board stemmed from my love of the 1950s and began with the dress. I love the style – it’s a look I would wear (in another color) to a party. The shoes came next…I mean, h-e-l-l-o! I’m a sucker for anything with a bow or ruffle. I don’t have the right face shape for bangs but I think they work with this theme.

When I think of retro, I picture bright, fun colors. The bridesmaid dress is a simple cut but the pop of orange makes it stand out. The bridal bouquet isn’t your typical bunch of white flowers – gerbera daisies are a favorite of mine and they come in practically every color.

Orange couldn’t be the only bright color. If I’m going retro, I’m going all out. The ceremony programs are tucked inside a yellow envelope and hung on white folding chairs – I imagine white cards with orange font. After the ceremony, that gorgeous turquoise car serves as the bride & groom’s exit-mobile as they take photos and guests enjoy a cocktail hour.

The reception stays in line with the retro vibe:

  • Popcorn maker
  • Jars of bright candy
  • Photo booth: one film strip serves as favor, one is for guestbook
  • Cupcakes in lieu of the traditional wedding cake

Wedding Dress: The Steven Birnbaum Collection
Shoes: Badgley Mischka by My Glass Slipper
Earrings: MEG Jewelry

2 responses to “Wedding: Vibrantly Retro

Leave a Reply

