Watch out, waistline!

I finally reached my breaking point when last summer’s shorts were a little too tight. As of yesterday, I am a Weight Watchers member! I’ve heard from friends who were really successful with the program and I wanted to give it a try. My office is hosting meetings every Tuesday afternoon for 12 weeks – I don’t have to take up my precious time with R in the evenings to attend!

With my registration came a voucher for the e-tools, which I’m currently obsessed with. I can use WW on my pretty white iPhone, which will make grocery shopping and dining out even easier. R is going to humor me and do the plan to the best of his ability. Sometimes that man just needs an ice cream sandwich…or two.

Last night we made Citrus-Garlic Pork and if the “Oh my god!” we both said with our mouths full isn’t clear enough for you, it was absolutely delicious. For a side, we had Balsamic Vinegar Asparagus. I hadn’t made the pee-stinking veggies in a while and they were a little too crunchy for my liking, but still edible.

I’ll share the pork recipe and save the asparagus for another time. You know, when I cook them the right way.

Citrus-Garlic Pork
4 servings, Points Plus value: 5

  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 C. lime juice
  • 1/2 C. soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce
  • 4 boneless pork chops, trimmed of all fat
Pour mix of garlic, lime juice, soy sauce, and hot pepper sauce over pork chops
Cook at 350 for about 40 minutes

This recipe, plus my 1-pt asparagus dish, filled me up for quite a while last night. I ended the day with a 0-pt dessert: sliced strawberries sprinkled with Splenda. I think I can get used to this lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

