Pounds, pounds, go away

I’ve been doing the Weight Watchers PointsPlus program for two weeks and I’m so excited about my progress! I’ve lost 3.6 lbs so far and while it’s still 16.4 lbs shy of my goal, it’s really encouraging to see my weight drop little by little each week.

The past few weekends have been tough when it comes to the program because I had friends in town and went out to celebrate my birthday (more on that in another post). I was worried that all my efforts during the week would be shot to hell with each cocktail I downed (and I had a lot). Luckily, I wisely saved all of my “extra” points for my b-day celebration and drank wine and vodka diets all night, guilt free.

This week, I don’t have as much happening on my social calendar so I’m going to try to take it easy on the spirits. Some people might not have trouble with that but I like love to have a glass of wine when I get home from work. Fingers crossed that I stick with it and don’t get swayed by the fermented grape gods.

Before I start daydreaming about those bottles of wine that I got for my birthday, I want to share a recipe I tried when my mom came to visit. The original recipe is from one of my new favorite blogs, Gina’s Skinny Recipes. I didn’t have all the ingredients so I improvised while keeping the Points Plus value the same.

Shrimp Fried Rice
4 servings, Points Plus value: 9

  • 4 C. cooked white rice
  • 1 lb cooked shrimp
  • 1 C. onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 5 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp seafood seasoning
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 egg

Scramble eggs with a drop of water and season with salt & pepper – set aside. Add oil to a hot wok (or large pan) and saute onions, garlic, & pepper flakes for 1-2 minutes. Add shrimp and cook until pink. Add rice, egg, & soy sauce, mixing well for about 2 minutes.

Stayed tuned for more recipes as I whittle down my waistline!

Leave a Reply

