Double digits

I haven’t posted about Weight Watchers in a while so it’s time to give you an update on my progress and share a few more winning recipes.

As of today’s weigh-in, I’ve lost 10.6 pounds! I’m halfway to my goal and couldn’t be more excited to get rid of double digit lbs. My stomach is flatter, my face is slimmer, and I’m so much happier! I’m not in a smaller pant size (dammit thighs, why won’t you shrink?!) but my clothes aren’t as snug so a trip to the tailor can’t be too far off! Compliments from friends are also part of my motivation. It’s hard to see a change when you look at yourself in the mirror every day but when your more-than-honest best friend says that you look thinner, you believe her.

So what am I eating to lose the weight? Honestly, I’m eating the same types of food that I used to but I’m paying closer attention to portion sizes. (I actually count out the number of chips or pretzels in a serving size so I don’t scarf down the entire bag). Other than that, cutting back on weeknight wine has been crucial…and difficult. Hello, my name is Madeline and I love adult beverages. Duh, look at my blog title! But seriously, only drinking on the weekends or when I dine out is making the biggest difference. Yes, I still have the occasional one to two glasses during the week but I’m more conscious of how full my glass is.

Another great thing about doing WW is the recipes. I’ve shared a few before and here’s another one you should try out:

Coconut Curry Chicken (original recipe called for shrimp and brown rice but it’s hard to compete with Spicy Shrimp Fried Rice!)
4 servings, Points Plus value: 8

  • 2 poached chicken breasts
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 medium scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 C. light coconut milk
  • 2 C. cooked white rice

Add oil to pan over medium heat. Add curry powder and salt, stir for about 1 minute. Add white part of scallions, cook for 2 more minutes. Stir in coconut milk. Add chicken, toss to coat. Serve over white rice and sprinkle the green part of scallions to make it pretty!

Here’s an extra lesson for you, in case you haven’t tried poaching chicken before:

  1. Place chicken in pot, cover with water (or stock) and bring to a boil
  2. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes
  3. Turn off heat and let chicken continue to cook for 15-20 minutes
Try it out, say yum, and thank me.
2 responses to “Double digits

Leave a Reply

