Upgrade!

It’s funny how the size of your bed can make you feel older, more mature, like you’re growing up, etc. We move out of our cribs into a “big kid bed.” It’s enormous when you’re three years old but a twin bed starts to get a little cramped when you’re a teenager (and especially when you’re in college trying to snuggle with your honey).

When I moved out of the dorms, my parents bought me a full sized “bigger kid bed.” I had that thing for seven years. It traveled with me back home after college, into my first apartment, and then into my condo with R over the summer. Like a ratty old t-shirt that has holes in the armpits, I hung onto that mattress for way too long. The springs were squeaking, the mattress was lumpy, and it was just too small for us.

R and I decided that we’d treat ourselves get a new bed for Christmas. It’s what Tom & Donna would do.

We were out running errands this past weekend and popped into Mattress Warehouse to check out the sales, which turned out to be too good to pass up. Christmas came early and our new queen sized bed was delivered yesterday! It’s a big investment but considering that we spend one-third of our lives in bed, it was worth the cost. Plus, we have free financing for a year and it will be paid off in a few months.

Our bedroom is the one area of our place that isn’t fully decorated. Now that we have a bigger bed, I can start working on a homemade headboard to make the room feel more cozy. I can’t wait to get back home and lay down on that thing!

And because Parks & Rec is one of my favorite shows, I can’t help myself from sharing another clip from the same episode.

One response to “Upgrade!

  1. I'm totally creating a Treat Yo Self day. For me, I'm going to assign it to be exactly 6 months from my birthday in celebration of my half-birthday. Done and done.

Leave a Reply

