Christmas favorites

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! I hope you read that with a sing-song voice in your head because that’s how I typed it. I love all things Christmas. My mom is more than a little obsessed with Santa so there are decorations up all year long. Once December rolls around, it looks like the North Pole exploded in rural Virginia.

Christmas for me is more about the traditions and warm fuzzy feelings than it is about presents and toys. Don’t get me wrong, I still love opening my stocking and running downstairs to see what’s stuffed under the tree but there’s so much more to the holidays than gifts.

Nothing gets me in the mood for Christmas more than the movies and music so with just 25 shopping days left, here are just a few ofmy favorites that you should watch/listen to with your loved ones.

She & Him is fronted by the fabulous Zooey Deschenel and M. Ward. Zooey’s voice is so unique and gives me goosebumps in a good way. There are 12 holiday classics on this album and they all make me want to snuggle up with a mug of cocoa in front of the fireplace.

Michael Bublé can do no wrong. His voice will put you under a magical spell. One look into his eyes while he belts out Christmas tunes will give you jelly knees. My only complaint about this album is that there are only 15 songs. That’s not enough Bublé! He’s performing on Christmas in Rockafeller Center tonight on NBC at 8 pm. Oh yes, I will be watching…and melting.

Candy, candy canes, candy corns, and syrup. I could watch Elf any time of the year, it’s so funny! It gave us classic lines like, “Smiling’s my favorite!” and “Santa’s coming!!! I know him!!!” Because of this movie, every epic burp in my house is followed by, “Did you hear that?” I’m laughing just thinking about it!! Not only do you get to look at Will Ferrell in those bright yellow tights, you’re also treated to Zooey D. as one of Santa’s helpers…and she sings. After all, the best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear.
Full disclosure, I didn’t see this movie until a couple of years ago. I know, I know, it’s a crime. I quickly realized the error of my ways. All the man wants to do is have a perfect Christmas with his family but come on, like that would happen in a movie. These crazy characters would make anyone’s family members look like saints in comparison. It’s become a tradition at my house to watch this movie on Christmas Eve. Nothing says happy holidays like a dog yakking on a bone.
Leave a Reply

