Party time!

Growing up, I lived a 20-minute drive away from my friends. I couldn’t have spur-of-the-moment sleepovers or sneak out into the neighborhood to cause trouble which is why I’ve always wanted to grow up to have the “party house.” That doesn’t mean letting my future teenagers drink with their friends in our basement but it does mean having a house that my friends are always popping in and out of. Basically, I want the Monica Geller house. Now that I think about it, I’m a lot like Monica. I like being the hostess and I kind of look like this if I’m losing a board game:

That’s the look of horror and disgust because I hate losing board games. Anyway, back to why we’re here. Picking a theme, menu, and decorations gets my heart racing, so it’s no wonder that we’re throwing a New Year’s Eve party! The thing about having your own holiday party is that it saves you money. I live really close to DC and it’s just too expensive to hit the town on December 31. You have to spend money on tickets and transportation and you usually have to wait in line for food and drinks. I’m sorry but I simply will not wait for my champagne and crostini.

The party is only four days away! R usually tells me to take it easy with the amount of food and “fanciness” but I rarely listen. We’re expecting close to 25 people so that means lots of appetizers and beverages. I will go as all-out as I want to…it’s a new year, after all!
I’ve been scouring the interwebz for festive recipes and decor and have a solid plan in mind. You can see all of the grandiose ideas on my NYE-dedicated Pinterest board but here’s a sneak peak:

Image sources: bubble bartortellini skewersphoto backdropstreamersbacon wrapped shrimpnoisemakers

Next week I’ll share pictures, recipes, and budget-friendly tips so your parties can be just as fun as mine!

3 responses to “Party time!

Leave a Reply

