NYExtravaganza

Happy 2012, everyone! How was your night? Did you stay up until the weeeee hours of the morning, or did you fall asleep before the ball dropped? As I mentioned the other day, R and I hosted some friends at our place and I’m here to give you the details.

First of all, I made a huge faux pas and didn’t photograph the table of food that I slaved over. Ok, it wasn’t that difficult, but an image would do wonders here. Hopefully one of my guests got a picture with the delicious treats in the background.

I wanted the night to be a little glitzy, so I settled on a black, silver, and gold theme. I ordered a bunch of decorations from Oriental Trading (and snagged a $10 giftcard as a result) and picked up the last few things from a party store near me. Here’s a look at some of the cute stuff we had going on:

You probably recognize a few of these from my post the other day or my Pinterest board. How fun is that cheesy prom backdrop? Everyone loves taking pictures on NYE so I designated a spot for all the classic poses to take place. I hung silver and gold stars (at different lengths) from our living room lights and dining room fixture to bring a little sparkle at eye level and above. One thing you should know about those noisemakers…they were covered in glitter. I’m sure there’s still glitter on my face and floor.

As for the tasty treats, we made a lot of food but they made for excellent leftovers the next day. Here’s what we had going on:

  • Turkey meatballs in grape jelly/chili sauce
  • Tortellini skewers
  • Cheese & crackers
  • Veggies & hummus
  • Bacon wrapped shrimp
  • Chips, dip, & salsa
  • Strawberries, blueberries, & frozen grapes (for your champagne & wine)

De-lic-ious. Our guests were so sweet and brought wine and desserts to round out the menu. Everyone seemed to be having a great time. One big hit of the night was our Resolution Wall. We slapped a piece of poster board on the wall and everyone used colored markers to write down what they hope to do in 2012. Finally, here are a few more pictures of me and my friends.

Here’s to an amazing new year!

One response to “NYExtravaganza

Leave a Reply

