Award Show Season

When I put a party or event on my calendar, one of the first things I wonder is, “What am I going to wear?” If I’ll be outside, I check the weather. If my friends will be there, I ask what they’re wearing. I look through magazines or fashion websites to see what the stars are wearing. But what do those celebrities do? They have to stay ahead of the trend so all of us “normal” people can look to them for style inspiration. Sometimes they get it right and sometimes they’re a big hot mess. After each major award show, you’ll see a post from me about red carpet choices, award winners, getting the look for less, or a combination of the three.

Last night was the People’s Choice Awards on CBS. It’s exactly what it sounds like: we, “the people,” get to nominate and vote on winners in categories that cover movies, television, and music. I sometimes worry about what the collective “people” think is funny or good but I think “we” got a few things right.

Winners I Wholeheartedly Support:

Neil Patrick Harris Favorite TV Comedy Actor
How I Met Your Mother Favorite Network TV Comedy
Emma Stone Favorite Comedy Movie Actress
Ellen DeGeneres Favorite Daytime TV Host
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Favorite Movie, Action Movie, & Ensemble Cast

You can see the full list of nominees and winners here.

There were some funny moments last night but also some cringe-worthy ones. The forced banter between presenters is so uncomfortable to watch and some of the winners really need to work on their stage presence when not on set. Seriously, practice a thank you speech ahead of time. Adam Sandler…that voice you used to accept your award was obnoxious and laughing at your own jokes didn’t make them funny. Demi Lovato…wow. I had to mute the TV, her performance was that bad.

Ok, I’m done with the snark. My favorite sketch of the night was from the cast of Parks & Recreation.

My favorite look of the night was Miley Cyrus in a white halter dress by David Koma and magenta Jimmy Choos. The dress has this plunging illusion neckline and a surprise of light-catching crystals around the hemline. Classy, youthful, and fun!

Ok, I’ve blabbered on enough for one day. The Golden Globes are on Sunday night and I just hope there are some better dressed ladies!

Leave a Reply

