Oscars Fashion

Did you watch the 84th Annual Academy Awards last night? I didn’t see any of the Best Picture nominated films but after it raked in a bunch of awards earlier in the season, I’m not surprised that The Artist took home the Oscar.

My focus, of course, was on the gowns. It’s a little funny that people talk about fashion hits or misses more than the actual award winners but what can I say, I’m guilty of it, too.

White hot! Much like a wedding, The Oscars are the most regal and anticipated event of the season so a white gown seems the most appropriate. These ladies nailed it.

Milla Jovovich in Elie Saab Couture This is my absolute favorite look of the night. Every time I look at it, I love it even more. Her hairstyle and red lips give the gown a vintage feel. Also loving the structured shoulder and understated jewelry. In one word, stunning.
Octavia Spencer in Tadashi Shoji She proved that you don’t have show it all to look sexy! I really love that women are wearing sleeves again. Oh, and she won an Oscar so that makes this a good luck dress!
Gwyneth Paltrow in Tom Ford This dress got mixed reviews but I think she looks incredible. I even like the cape! It’s different but not over the top ridiculous. Underneath the cape, that dress fits like a dream.

Color me surprised. Meaning, I didn’t love these dresses at first but they grew on me!

Kristen Wiig in J.Mendel This nude color is very difficult to wear but I think it looks amazing on her skin tone. The so-called fashion police didn’t like her casual hair but I think it fits with the flowy feel of the gown.
Michelle Williams in Louis Vuitton Her skin flawless, which makes this coral/orange dress pop. Peplum (the thing that looks like a tutu) accents have never been my favorite but this one is short and not too poufy. Adding the diamond bow and pink clutch make it a sweet, feminine, ruffly winner.
Emma Stone in Giambattista Valli Couture Another actress with porcelain skin who I adore so much. Obviously the bow threw me off at first. But she’s young, she’s funny, she has just the right attitude to wear something like this. Everything else about her look was understated which let the bow take center stage.

What was your favorite look of the night? We’re entitled to our own opinions so do you agree or disagree with my picks?

Leave a Reply

