Happy anniversary!

It’s kind of hard to believe but it’s been 12 months since this trip to Williamsburg and 24 months since I disgustingly gushed about my new relationship with R. Earlier this week we passed the two year mark…time really flies!

We didn’t have the time or money to spend a weekend away this year so we stayed at home and celebrated with yummy dinners and presents. Our actual anniversary was on Monday but the previous Friday, we went out for dinner at one of our favorite places, La Tasca<. It’s a Spanish tapas restaurant and is actually where we took our parents the first time they met. Cue the “awwww’s.” It’s so fun to eat there because we order a bunch of smaller plates and get to try more than one menu item. Here’s what we had:

  • Brocheta de Cordero y Orejones – grilled lamb marinated in cinnamon, skewered with dried apricots and served with a blackened carrot reduction
  • Calamares a la Andaluza – fried calamari rings
  • Brocheta de Gambas y Vieiras – skewer of grilled shrimp and bacon-wrapped scallops
  • Espinacas Salteadas – sauteed spinach with garlic, pine nuts, and raisins

Oh, and let’s not forget the pitcher of sangria blanca, made with peaches – yum!

We spent the weekend sitting on the couch in our pjs watching a Dateline NBC: Real Life Mysteries marathon. Yeah, that really happened. Once Anniversary Day arrived, we were ready for another delicious meal but this time, we cooked together at home. The sauteed spinach from La Tasca inspired us to make our own on the side of a filet and baked potato. I want to eat this picture. Oh and those flowers? A gift from R, of course.

Enough about food, don’t you want to know what a two-year present looks like? I will admit, my gift to R is technically a gift for the both of us. We watch so many movies and TV shows that I figured we needed better sound quality. We’re the proud owners of a Sony HT-CT150 Home Theater!

I think he likes it. I did a lot of research on sound systems and decided to go with a sound bar/subwoofer because 1) I didn’t want to deal with mounting speakers on the walls and 2) this system had really good reviews on CNET for its price. I’ve never bought anything bigger than a movie at Best Buy so I must say, they provided awesome customer service. After I bought the system it actually went down in price by about $40 so they honored an adjustment. We have great sound and I have money back in my account. Smiles all around.

And what did R get me? Well, besides a super nice dinner and roses, I’m rocking this new timepiece that I was lusting after.

You can get a better look at it (or buy it for yourself) here. It has a rose gold case and a white, pearlized strap. I just love it! And it looks great with my Stella & Dot tribute bracelet. R got me a bunch of other little things including a book about Pawnee, wine, popcorn kernels for our at-home popper, and vanilla tootsie rolls (my fave). He knows me so well.

So that was our anniversary! What do you and your significant other do to celebrate? Any unconventional ideas that I can steal, er, borrow for next year?

Leave a Reply

