Not so mellow yellow

I love the weather right now. It’s warm but not humid and still a little crisp at night. To celebrate the high-70s and low-80s temps in the DC area, I decided to break out my new colored denim. I’m pretty sure I had a pair of jeans in every color imaginable back in 4th grade. If only they were still in my closet…and I could still fit into them. Alas, my body is not that of an nine-year-old girl anymore.

Lucky for me, practically every store is carrying brights or pastels in denim form. And lucky for you, I’m going to show you how to combine two of the trends I mentioned here and here.

Ankle jeans, NY & Co; Cardigan, The Limited; Top, LOFT (similar style here);
Shoes, Target (similar style here); Jewelry, LOFT, NY & Co.

Just so you know, the jeans read a little more pastel in the photo than they are in real life. They’re not highlighter yellow but are definitely a bit brighter in person. As you can see, it’s easy to mix Trend 1 (color!) and Trend 3 (prints). I chose a printed top with a touch of yellow then balanced the look with a navy cardigan and wedges.

Shout out to my co-worker and fellow Ryan Gosling lover Peety Draws for snapping this pic at work! Check out her Etsy shop for some really fun artwork and cards, like this adorable Baby Freckles!

I can’t wait to break out my other colorful Spring outfits. What’s hanging in your closet that screams sunshine?

2 responses to “Not so mellow yellow

  1. Color color color! I love it and it's so refreshing to see you're not afraid of it! Those yellow pants are awwwwwesome, especially paired with that navy blue cardigan. Love it.

Leave a Reply

