Magnificent mercury

Back in September I got an amazing orange table lamp (seen here) from Home Goods when my mom came to visit. I searched for months but couldn’t find anything I liked that coordinated with it for the other side of the couch. My mom must be a lucky charm because I fell in love with another lamp when she came to visit last month!

Since I saved a ton by DIY-ing our bedroom lamps, I didn’t mind paying $39.99 for this “mercury glass” one from Home Goods. I always thought of mercury glass as kind of old fashioned and dirty but the more I looked at this lamp, the more I had to have it. Then it got me thinking…how else could I incorporate it into our place? We have an overall turquoise/orange/green color scheme going on but metallic accents look good with almost everything!

Here are a few pieces that I’m loving. I gravitate toward the more polished metallics but I’m trying to open my mind to other decorating ideas.

Vases | West Elm

Finial | Urban Outfitters

Serving Tray | Macy’s

Pendant Light | Pottery Barn

Trinket Box | Anthropologie

Even though I am a modern girl and will likely stay addicted to the super shiny silver and gold, it’s fun to play around with eclectic pieces and make them work in your home.
See anything you like here?

Leave a Reply

