Blog revamp

Earlier this month, I decided to make the switch to WordPress and give my blog an overhaul. When I started Cocktails & Merriment, I didn’t have a clear direction. Now that I’ve been regularly blogging for over a year, I found that a theme emerged from almost all of my posts…discounts!

I couldn’t get rid of the homage to cocktails (this girl loves her some adult beverages) so after a brainstorming session with Peety Draws and a quick search on urbandictionary.com, I came up with Drunk on Discounts. Check out the ‘About‘ page for more info about the title’s roots because now I want to take you on a tour of my new layout and pages.

How cool is the new header? Again, big shout out to Peety Draws for turning my Sharpie sketch into a masterpiece.

All of my old posts have been categorized and tagged for easier browsing. Click on a category (Activities, Fashion & Beauty, Household & DIY, Lifestyle) from any post or the right hand menu (on the ‘Home’ tab) to filter and scroll through them one by one. I also added these categories to the navigation bar with a more visually appealing index.

Taking inspiration from Pinterest, all posts are represented by an image and title so you can get a glimpse into each post before clicking through.

On the right you’ll see links to the last five posts, my Twitter feed, and a drop-down post archive. This area will likely change from time to time as I come up with more content and play around with WordPress (I’m still a newbie).

So, what do you think? I couldn’t be more excited about the new look and focus of Drunk on Discounts. I hope you love it as much as I do!

One response to “Blog revamp

  1. Totally stoked about the revamped blog! Love the name, btw. 🙂 Hooray for making the switch – it looks so seamless when you do it.

Leave a Reply

