My trip to Amsterdam

Guys, I’m sorry. I’ve been a terrible blogger. Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-alcohol international and local travel.

Last time we chatted, I was getting ready for my work trip to Amsterdam. What a beautiful city! Since I was inside a conference center most of the time, I didn’t have a chance to explore very much. But I do have one great deal to share with you world travelers.

One of my co-workers told me about the tour company called SANDEMANs NEW Europe. I registered for a free tour and printed off a ticket, but nobody collected it so you can probably just show up at the designated meeting spot. Sure, I could have walked around the city and visited the same buildings by myself but with a guide, I learned things along the way.

The company operates in a bunch of different countries and does more than just free stuff. For varying prices you could do a harbor tour in Copenhagen, a Versailles tour in Paris, a tapas experience in Madrid, a Holy City tour in Jerusalem, a pub crawl in Hamburg…the list goes on. Even though the tour is free, it’s nice to give your guide a little monetary tip for their time (5 euros will do).

It was really rainy the whole week I was there but who cares? I was in Europe! When we were released from work, a few of us went to the coolest brewery ever called Brouwerij ‘t IJ – it was in a windmill!

We snacked on chorizo and cheese while we tasted every beer on tap. I especially liked the ijwit, a wheat beer with hints of coriander and lemon. I also got R’s souvenir here, a t-shirt with the brewery logo.

I’m dying to get back to Europe. Actually, my next planned trip is Fall 2013 for my BFF’s birthday (we’re going to spend Thanksgiving in London). Give me some tips on where do go, what to do, food to try…I’m up for anything!

One response to “My trip to Amsterdam

Leave a Reply

