West by God Virginia

If you’re looking for a relaxing vacation spot, try Canaan Valley in Davis, WV. I just got back from a five-day girls-only vacation in this gorgeous area. The small town (and neighboring Thomas) has just a handful of shops so all there really is to do is enjoy the scenery.

How gorgeous is that waterfall? This is Blackwater Falls State Park, which is just a short drive from the house we stayed in. There are a few walking/hiking/cross country skiing trails in the area but we stuck to light walking.

That’s me, my mom’s best friend, my best friend, and my mom in front of Blackwater Falls. This was our only day of physical exertion so once we got back to our cabin, my BFF and I tried our luck with the canoe. Let’s just say we were good enough to stay in the canoe but not very talented otherwise.

That last one is my favorite – looking at the “shore,” trying to figure out how to get out of the canoe without falling in the water. Mission accomplished.

These pictures make us appear really outdoorsy but that’s so not the case. Most of the time we were sitting on the couch, watching movies, putting a puzzle together, and drinking wine. I have a few craft projects to share with you, too, but those will have to wait for another post. For now, enjoy a few more shots from our week of relaxation! (My 27th birthday happened on vacation, which explains the tiara in one of the pictures.)

Leave a Reply

