Ikat invasion

When I was a kid, I spent each summer in Florida visiting my grandmother. There weren’t a lot of kids my age in her neighborhood so a few times a week, my mom would drop me off at a paint-your-own-pottery shop. I became a regular and the owner actually asked me to work there until my vacation ended. I was 14 and got paid $6 an hour under the table. Cha-ching!

Why am I telling you this story? The Internet has been taunting me with ikat and after seeing a DIY project, I had to get my pottery painting on. Back in June, Joss & Main featured these gorgeous orange and gold ikat bowls.

These bowls were already a great deal at over 60% off but since I love using a little elbow grease to get the best deal possible, there’s another option for you.

Over at the My Color inspired by Pantone blog, Kristen F. Davis (whose own bloglove) shows us how easy it is to take a plain white plate and transform it into a gorgeous ikat masterpiece.

I decided to use this technique at my local All Fired Up. Fun fact about this particular shop – you can bring alcohol. Nothing like a peach Bellini and hand painted pottery. I’ve been obsessed with the look of mint and gold so I used that color scheme on a teacup set.

What I love about the ikat pattern is that it doesn’t have to be symmetrical. This is good news for a not-so-talented painter like myself.

The teacup set was $24, including paint and firing costs, but I’m not going to use it for late night beverages. Instead, I like it as a jewelry holder for the pieces I wear regularly.

Watch out family and friends, you might be getting some hand painted gifts for Christmas this year!

5 responses to “Ikat invasion

  1. Wow, the color looks great! I use little teacups as holders for some of my jewelry, too, and loose change. Do more with different color combos!

Leave a Reply

