Pinned: Catching up

I’m back at work after two bonus days of TV-watching and pj-wearing. Hurricane Sandy was kind to us – no damage to our apartment and our power only flickered a few times. R and I spent Monday night watching Die Hard With a Vengeance and The Avengers and most of Tuesday watching a Law & Order: SVU marathon. As much as I like bumming around, it was nice to put on real clothes this morning and get out of the house.

Last week, I was featured on Living Savvy’s 5 Favorites of Fall series so this week’s Pinned features my Pinterest activity from the past two weeks.

I took advantage of my extra long weekend to make this Rosemary White Bean Soup from the Food Network. Believe it or not, I’ve never made soup from scratch. I also had to make some substitutions since I wasn’t about to leave my house during the hurricane. I only had one quart of chicken stock so I used that, plus one quart of water. I also used canned white beans and dried rosemary (not on a branch). It’s good, but not great.

I discovered this amazing website, emergencycompliment.com, that is perfect for a little pick-me-up. The best part? If you click on “Thanks I feel better” at the bottom, you can buy a print of that phrase! You can look through all of the prints from Society 6 here. Personally, I love the one pictured above and think every blogger needs it.

I’m starting to think of Christmas gifts now that it’s almost November. These beer savers would make a great stocking stuffer for R and my brother – attached to a giant bottle of fancy beer, of course.

I love throwing parties and I especially love unique serving methods. Pouring drinks in a clear glass ornament is perfect for a holiday party, as long as you find ones sturdy enough to wash before use. I can’t find the original source of this image so let me know if you do so I can give credit where it’s due!

Since R is a quasi-hipster and a total goofball, he definitely needs these mustache cuff links  The guys who made these have other unique creations over at GothamSmith, all of which are made of metal and have a manly/industrial feel to them.

Don’t forget to enter the Mads & Peety Giveaway for custom framed art! Entries are accepted through 12:01 AM on Saturday.

One response to “Pinned: Catching up

Leave a Reply

