Family always comes first

My darling readers, I’m sorry I haven’t been around lately. I mentioned a few weeks ago that I was starting a new job but that’s only one reason I’ve been away.

Sunday morning, surrounded by loved ones, my grandmommy passed away at age 87. Thirteen years ago, she had a stroke and lost the ability to move one side of her body. She was bound to a wheelchair and had to rely on others to get dressed and use the bathroom. It was difficult to see her like that but I can’t even imagine how she felt.

Grandmommy was so devoted to her family and could do anything she put her mind to. For years, I’ve heard stories about how she built a brick walkway, a gazebo with a sloped roof, and a canoe. Apparently the canoe was so well-built that someone stole it!

Mom002 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not writing this post for your sympathy, only to let the world know what an amazing, strong, beautiful, and beloved woman my grandmommy will always be. I want to thank all of my friends and extended family members for their love and support during this difficult time. Out of everything my grandmommy taught me, the importance of family is at the top of the list.

One response to “Family always comes first

  1. I lived across the street from your grandmother and grew up with Linda, Mary, Beth and crazy little Howard :). Mary Cole was as cool as a mom could be and I know you will miss her dearly. I am sure she is with Turner in Heaven. Gail Douglas Grooms

Leave a Reply

